#TOOMUCHDOUBT

“Casey Anthony walked free while Troy Davis waits to be executed, must be nice to have the complexion for the protection” Paul Moody

Sitting here watching this is the hardest thing I think I’ve ever had to face in my life. Georgia, being an hour ahead of my time is for some reason making it harder to comprehend what I’m watching, maybe its because I have so much angst my thoughts are focusing. I’m sure most of you have heard about the case of Georgia native Troy Davis. Amnesty International has been doing a wonderful job at advocating for his human rights, seeing as now American has graduated to treating us like cattle. Apparently its acceptable to throw a life away – even with a 50 percent chance of doubt. If you’re going to do something as definite as ending a life, there should be no doubtwhatsoever. And in the state of Georgia, a Bible Belt state, way to call yourself Christians you hypocrite. As if you do not already have the worst reputation since the Civil Rights. I suppose history truly does repeat itself.

“I take no pleasure in the death of wicked people. I only want them to turn from their wicked ways” Ezek 33:11

So I should give you a bit of back story to help you further comprehend what has everyone’s undies in a bundle: http://www.amnesty.org/en/news-and-updates/clemency-us-death-row-prisoner-troy-davis-denied-2011-09-20

“This is a huge setback for human rights in the USA, where a man who has been condemned under dubious evidence is to be executed by the state. Even at this late stage, the Board must reconsider its decision,” said Salil Shetty, Amnesty International’s Secretary General. “The decision by Georgia’s Board of Pardons and Paroles to reject Troy Davis’ appeal for clemency is obviously at odds with their 2007 decision when they counselled against execution if there was “doubt as to the guilt of the accused””, said Salil Shetty. The case against Troy Davis primarily rested on witness testimony. Since his 1991 trial, seven of key nine witnesses have recanted or changed their testimony, some alleging police coercion.” (Amnesty Internation Website) “Clearly, the US capital justice system is capable of making mistakes. The persistent doubts that have plagued the Troy Davis case point to a fundamental flaw of the death penalty. It is irrevocable – and in the USA, the death penalty is also marked by arbitrariness, discrimination and error,” Salil Shetty added. Since Troy Davis has been on death row, more than 90 prisoners have been released from death rows around the USA on grounds of innocence. In each case, at trial the defendant had been found guilty beyond a reasonable doubt. In the past four years, three states in the USA – New Jersey, New Mexico and Illinois – have legislated to abolish the death penalty. The inability to exclude errors, and the potential for executing the innocent, were major arguments in these processes,  convincing even some previous supporters of the death penalty..

Now, I’ve got a few problems with this. As quoted above the justice system makes mistakes. I don’t know about you but walking into a man’s cell and taking his request for his last meal after recanted testimonies, a repeal to a poly tests, and no substantial evidence. Can you kill a man based solely on heresay? Is that really evidence enough to convict and murder a man? Second, I’m not one of those liberals that sits in coffee shops scowling and forcing my judicial opinions down your throat. But the death penalty in itself to me is awful. As a nation we pride ourselves on being so advanced, yet we keep the idea of something so old age. I feel like their should be a 11th commandment that says ‘Thou shalt not kill in revenge’. 20 years on trail – 20 years our system has to find evidence, and you can provide nothing. However I am satisfied with the peaceful and order that is being practiced by the protestors. Which brings me to my next point. By killing this man, our judicial system has to be aware that I will not sit by quietly. And I’m sure that is the thinking of many others. Unless you want a mass riot, you need to think of something to please every party- like reopening his case. As far as the system we have in place, you have had 20 years to collect evidence, 20 years you have made an innocent man, a grieving mother stand by. 20 years you’ve had…. and you’ve done nothing.

I hate sitting here and waiting by, I cant stop my leg from shaking. I cant take the fact that it took the jurors less than 24 hours to condemn a man to death without DNA evidence. And that now they are taking it back. That I just watched one of the witnesses tell CNN he tried to rescind his statement over and over, and yet you have a shoot to kill order hanging over his head. I cant take that its so easy for someone to say facts be damned and jump so readily to point the blame. I don’t understand why its taking the Supreme Court to come up with a decision, if there is doubt, the answer seems pretty clear. Go and find the guy who’s saying it was him – oh wait, he’s missing.

All I can say is if this man is executed I am disgusted to call myself an American, disgusted to live in a place where there is no price on a life.

However, there is always hope. And everything negative always has a positive to take from it. Thank you to Amnesty International for bringing worldwide attention to this matter, as well as Democracy Now, thank you to everyone who’s spoken against the system. (Something in this reminds me of V from Vendetta) Thank you to Troy Davis for not loosing your faith. And to everyone like me eyes watering faces glued to the tele refusing to give up hope because of our crappy developing country. Yeah, I went there. It is amazing what we can do when we all ban together. And its beautiful to see that there are still people in the world who believe in justice.

So who is Troy Davis?

He is a son, a brother, a lover. He’s a Christian, a man in the wrong place at the wrong time. He is of African American decent in a racist state, he’s afraid and wrongly accused. He’s been silenced. He could have been me. Or you. So, my friends, we are all Troy Anthony Davis.

Still feel safe and protected by your country?

Never give up faith.

Love ALL,

Meghan (:

One thought on “#TOOMUCHDOUBT

Add yours

Leave a Reply

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

