Hawaii Eats: Punahou Carnival Mango Chutney

mikaseven

So earlier this month, I tried to go to the Punahou Carnival to get their famous Mango Chutney.  I’m proud to say that I went to a public school and all that jazz but seriously–people say that Punahou’s Mango Chutney is the best in the WORLD.  I only wanted a jar or two, just to say I’ve tried it. 

Well, to make a long story short, I failed. *sigh* I was warned that it sells out within the first HOUR of the carnival…And they were all right. By mid afternoon, there was nothing left–just an empty grey tarp with a few tables. SADNESS. I had to settle for a gyro.

Later on, as I wallowed in my failure, I came upon this: A recipe from 1999 with detailed instructions on how to make Punahou’s Mango Chutney! Thank you, Betty Shimabukuro and the Honolulu Star-Bulletin. (As a side note, this recipe…

View original post 179 more words

Leave a Reply

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

